Ryūnosuke Akutagawa

Ryūnosuke Akutagawa (1892–1927) was a Japanese short story writer. His stories (over 150) include Rashōmon, The Spider’s Thread, The Nose, Hell Screen, Kappa, and In a Grove. Japan’s premier literary award for emerging writers, the Akutagawa Prize, is named after him.
A stack of old issues of The Yale Review. Courtesy Pentagram

Four Japanese Stories

Ryūnosuke Akutagawa
Ryan C. K. Choi
July 1, 2018